MMABeats: How does it feel to be associated with, what in my opinion, are two of the biggest names in marital arts, the Thompson's and the Machado's?
Lindsay
: I would have to say I feel lucky to have such a tight knit family. It isn't common these days to have families that are close and that support each other the way we do. Both my family and my husband's family are close and have known each other since 1997. To have both families in the martial arts, working together and collaborating is truly awesome! Carlos and my dad get on the mat and get to work with my brothers and other fighters, when together, and then head home and follow up with where they left off over dinner. I would have to say I am one lucky girl to have the family I have!
MMABeats: What was it like growing up in the Thompson family?
Lindsay: Growing up in the Thompson family was definitely a demanding experience. We are firm believers that hard work and dedication pays off. So early on my mom and dad made sure that we learned that lesson. If you want something then get to work..nothing was handed to us that's for sure! We literally grew up in the karate school. We all had so much fun playing and training in the school everyday! What kid wouldn't want to run and play all day on the mats and with all the equipment and with other kids? Good memories for sure! As we trained and got older we took on more responsibilities within the karate school and began to assist in classes and eventually became full time instructors. When other kids were hanging out with their friends after school or watching tv my parents made sure we were busy being role models. Looking back I would not have changed a thing cause I think we all turned out alright!

MMABeats:
Do you have any funny Wonderboy stories you can tell that I can share with my readers?
Lindsay: There are too many funny Wonderboy stories to count! He was such a rascal! Sweet as can be but definitely one to always do the exact opposite of what my parents told him to do..lol..I remember one occasion where my mom, me and my other brothers Tony and Evan were at the gas station. It was in the evening and Stephen got out and pumped the gas for mom while we all stayed in the van..well after he had pumped the gas and paid he was walking back to the van and had the bright idea to sneak up and scare our mom ..well she saw someone slowly creeping up beside her side of the van, but didnt realize it was Stephen. Her window was down and when he jumped up at her window she hit him twice in the face so fast that we didnt even see her hand move. I am laughing right now just thinking about this. He yells and walks back holding his nose..haha...naturally she felt so bad but he learned to never sneak up on mom at night at the gas station..lol!!!   

MMABeats: Were you competitive in karate growing up?
Lindsay: Oh yes..My dad had me competing in my first karate tournament at the ripe old age of 4. I competed quite often in karate until I was about 13. After 14 years old we all began to focus not just on the Kempo karate and BJJ but also kickboxing! I had my first ickboxing  fight at 15 years old. It was against a 27 year old lady who currently held the Georgia state amateur title if I remember correctly. My dad forgot to mention that little detail to me though:) He told me that it was her first fight as well so I wouldn't freak out about fighting such an experienced fighter. You have to understand though. Back then there were no women fighting so you had to take whatever fight you could get. Fortunately I won the fight and sent her packing. The look on my dads face was priceless! He was grinning ear to ear and I could tell he was really proud of me that night. I had a few other fights after that one and won them all. I competed in a handful of BJJ tournaments and won all of those as well..So my martial arts career up until I had my kids was great! I could have accomplished more but the time to start my family approached and I turned my focus on raising my kiddos and helping my husband build his business in Dallas. That has been my focus ever since. 

MMABeats: How did you and Carlos meet?
Lindsay:  I met Carlos in SC. My dad would bring Carlos in to teach BJJ seminars at his karate school. So for a few years my family got to know and bond with Carlos. He asked my dad for permission to date me and my dad said yes. So we talked via email and the phone for a couple of months before I moved to Texas for good! We got married 2 months later and had 4 kids in 4.5 years..we didnt waste any time creating our family! It has been a roller coaster but its been worth it! We actually have plans to have a couple more little Machado's in the near future! Definitely helps to have family that loves your husband as much as you do! 

Stephen D From Western MA
10/22/2016 08:22:35 pm

Yours is one of those families (like my own), that after hearing stories like the one you posted, makes you want to get to know them yourself. I think your brother is probably the classiest guy in MMA.... Definitely the most classy person in the UFC. I wrote your mother an email a few months ago, asking for some info on the gym, and what it would take to get myself in there, and she replied really quickly, and was an amazingly sweet person. For someone to be the matriarch of such an amazing family, she is exceptionally nice, grounded, sweet woman. I would be lucky to get the chance to come meet your family, let alone train with them.

One more thing... I read an article where Stephen said that you protected him when you guys were growing up. The article was such an awesome read, and it was definitely something that you don't hear everyday! I grew up defending my brothers, and my sister. You are a rarity! I wish you and your family the best.

Thank you,
Stephen Drenen

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.